Slip & Falls

Picture this: After a long week of work, the weekend is finally here. You wake up on Saturday morning ready to take on the day. A few hours of rest coupled with catching up on your favorite shows are followed by heading out to do a little light grocery shopping.

At the store, you're all smiles as you fill your basket with your favorite fruits, veggies, and organic meats. Everything is going your way. You turn the corner to head down the snack aisle and — boom — your whole life is turned upside down.

The floor was wet. There wasn't a sign. You slipped. You fell. You're hurt.

Oh, no, you think as people stop and stare. Some rush by your side to see if you're okay. Not only are you in physical pain, but your pride is bruised, too.

"I'm fine," you say graciously as you try to get up. "No, thank you. I'm good. Really," you insist. But as you attempt to stand, you realize you can't. You don't know it yet, but the slip and fall caused you to sprain your ankle. All you do know is that walking out of the store is not an option and someone needs to call 9-1-1.

Were you injured in a slip and fall?

Call Me Today

Slip & Fall Law in New Mexico

It's estimated that nearly 2-million people are injured because of a slip and fall every year. This type of injury falls under the umbrella of premises liability, which is the obligation and accountability an owner has for any wrongdoing that happens on the property he or she owns. This can include not only injuries but crimes and other torts. In the case of slip and falls, you have the right to be compensated for your pain and suffering — and that's something I can help you with.

In New Mexico, you have up to three years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit for your slip and fall injury. The injury sustained to your body is different from any property damage (a broken watch or cell phone, for example) that you want to sue for. The statute of limitations for any damaged property is four years from the date of the accident.

Another thing to consider is how much of the accident was your fault. Let's say the court rewards you $10,000 for your injuries and deems that, based on the circumstances,  30% of your injury was caused by something you did or didn't do. That 30% would be reduced from your reward and you would receive $7,000.There are some factors to consider before deciding that filing a lawsuit is in your best interest. For example:

  • Were you trespassing or on part of a property in which visitors weren't allowed?
  • Were you wearing the proper shoes for the situation?
  • Were there any signs or cones marking that you shouldn't be in that area?
  • Were you simply not paying attention to where you were going?

Regardless of the situation, I can help you sift through it all.

New Mexico Slip & Falls Attorney

If you were injured in a slip and fall on someone else's property, you don't have to navigate the system on your own. I can help you fight for compensation and receive the justice you deserve. Allow me to work on the ins and outs of your case so that you can focus on a smooth recovery. Schedule a consultation today.