New Mexico is stepping up its measures in making DWI/DUI laws even more stringent. If you are arrested for DWI/DUI or refuse to take the breath test, you are facing two separate matters.
First, there are criminal proceedings in Mora County. Second, you can request an MVD License Revocation Hearing to get your driver’s license back, if you request one within the required ten-day period.
There is too much at stake in terms of potential penalties and the fact that a DWI/DUI conviction can follow you around for decades. It is your right to defend the allegations pending against you.
Hire an experienced DWI/DUI lawyer for Mora, New Mexico at Grano Law Offices, P.C. that GETS RESULTS. As a former state prosecutor and NHTSA-certified attorney, he has unique insight into providing a strategic defense for his clients.
FREE Case Strategy Session
I offer prospective clients a FREE CASE STRATEGY SESSION to discuss their options and learn more about my proposed defense strategy. Schedule yours by calling 505-587-8649 or sending me a request here.
Distance should not be a barrier to responsive legal care. As such, if you cannot travel to my office, I can meet with you or your family members in a virtual capacity via video- or teleconferencing, secure messaging, or email.
Defending Your Case and Your Rights Every Step of the Way
Your DWI/DUI charges are defensible. Drunk and drugged driving arrests are standardized uniformly throughout the United States, which is wrought with opportunity for police officers to make critical mistakes.
If you hire a New Mexico DWI/DUI lawyer at Grano Law Offices, P.C., I will work toward uncovering instances of rights violations, unlawful arrest procedures, or if a medical condition caused you to fail a blood alcohol content (BAC) breath test.
In the State of New Mexico, you can be charged with a DWI/DUI if your BAC was higher than .08 or if you failed the field sobriety test and refused to provide a breath sample. A DWI/DUI conviction can result in severe penalties, even for a first-time offense
CLIENTS TRUST Grano Law Offices, P.C. to defend against the following charges and penalties:
First-Offense DWI/DUI (Misdemeanor)
- Potential Penalties: Ignition interlock for every vehicle you drive up to one year; Up to 90 days in jail; Up to a $500 fine; and up to one year of supervised probation
- Mandatory penalties: Up to 24 hours of community service; DWI school; Participation in the victim impact panel; and compliance with the recommendations of a substance abuse screening.
- Aggravated DWI/DUI: Mandatory 48 hours in jail.
Second-Offense DWI/DUI (Misdemeanor)
- Potential penalties: Ignition interlock for every vehicle you drive up to two years; Up to one year in jail with 96 mandatory hours served consecutively; Up to a $1,000 fine; and up to five years of supervised probation.
- Mandatory penalties: $500 fine; 48 hours of community service; Compliance with the recommendations of a substance abuse screening; and complete one of the following: 28 days of in-patient treatment, or 90 days of out-patient treatment, or completing a drug court program.
- Aggravated DWI/DUI: Mandatory 8 days in jail.
Third Offense DWI/DUI (Misdemeanor)
- Potential penalties: Ignition interlock for every vehicle you drive up to three years; Up to one year in jail with 30 mandatory days served consecutively; Up to a $1,000 fine; and up to 5 years of supervised probation.
- Mandatory penalties: $750 fine; Compliance with the recommendations of a substance abuse screening; 96 hours of community service; and complete one of the following: 28 days of in-patient treatment, or 90 days of out-patient treatment, or completing a drug court program.
- Aggravated DWI/DUI: Mandatory 90 days in jail.
- Potential penalties: Ignition interlock license for life and a lifetime revocation; Up to 12 years in prison; Up to a $10,000 fine; Up to five years on supervised probation; and ineligibility for some jobs. A felony is the most severe charge you can receive with minimum, mandatory penalties for convictions.
MVD License Revocation Hearing
After a DWI/DUI arrest, your license is automatically rescinded by law enforcement. However, you have an opportunity to challenge this decision by request an MVD License Revocation Hearing WITHIN TEN DAYS OF YOUR ARREST.
If you don’t request an MVD hearing within the specified timeframe, then you cannot get your license back until a court order is issued in your pending criminal matter. This hearing is your one shot to argue why you should be allowed to drive while your district court case is prosecuted. Hire a DUI/DWI attorney for Mora, New Mexico to attend this hearing with you and advocate on your behalf.